On view in our Gallery:
East End Landscapes by  Kathryn Szoka

Find out about Canio’s Cultural Cafe
MOBY-DICK MARATHON, 2017
Bookshop hours: open daily 10 to 6 p.m.; Sun. & Weds. 11 to 5 p.m.

Join Canio’s CSB: Community Supported Books. Plant some customer loyalty! Open an account with $100 and share in sustaining food for thought.

AUGUST

Tues. Aug. 1 at 5:30 p.m. Celebrate Herman Melville‘s Birthday with special guest scientist/writer Carl Safina author of Song for the Blue Ocean, View From Lazy Point and Beyond Words:What Animals Think & FeelArt Silent Auction closes and winner announced. Author talk & refreshments. Learn more about the art auction items at: https://caniosculturalcafe.wordpress.com/reader-schedule-moby-dick-marathon/


Sat. Aug 5 at 5 p.m.
  Author/journalist Isabel Vincent reads from her memoir, Dinner with Edward: A Story of an Unexpected Friendship
a stylish and moving story of meals and companionship shared across generations

PHOTO WORKSHOP: Tues., Aug 8 thru 29, 3-5pm at The Art Barge, The ACT of Seeing with Kathryn.  Deepen your ability to look and see light while developing your inner and outer eye. Students will explore technical aspects of the camera, conduct field work, work on assignments, and engage in critique.  Basic familiarity with your camera is required for this workshop.  Register:  631.267.3172 or theartbarge.org.

Sat. Aug. 12, 5 p.m. Pulitzer prize-winning author Colson Whitehead reads from  Underground Railroad. EVENT filled.

Sat. Aug. 19 at 5 p.m. Actor Susan Bailey performs a staged reading of  the dramatic monologue “Ernesta” a tale of love, music and murder! Written by poet Sandy McIntosh, “Ernesta” is included in his new collection Obsessional.

Tues. Aug 22, 7 p.m. “Good Shoemaker, Poor Fish-Peddler: a Memorial for Nicola Sacco and Bartolomeo Vanzetti upon the 90th Anniversary of their Unjust Executions” with historian/folk musician Stephen Sanfilippo.

Sat. Aug. 26 at 5 p.m. Author Helene Stapinski discusses her new book: Murder in Matera: A True Story of Passion, Family, and Forgiveness in Southern Italy.

 SEPTEMBER

 Sat. Sept. 2 at 5 p.m. Historian Blanche Weisen Cook speaks about and reads from her acclaimed biography: Eleanor Roosevelt: The War Years and After, 1939 – 1962,  volume 3 in her masterwork.

Sat. Sept. 9 at 5 p.m. Author Annette Hinkle speaks about Sag Harbor Cinema history, reading from the new book Sag Harbor Cinema. Celebrate HARBOR FEST

Sat. Sept. 16 at 5 p.m. Prof. Marc Fasanella presents the art book he edited about his painter father: Ralph Fasanella:Images of Optimism.
Ralph Fasanella’s artwork celebrates urban life, workers, ordinary people. An early labor union organizer, Fasanella turned his political passion into his paintings. John Sweeney, president of the AFL-CIO, declared Fasanella to be “a true artist of the people in the tradition of Paul Robeson and Woody Guthrie.”

Tues. Sept. 19 at 6:30 p.m.
Biologist James Costa presents Darwin’s Backyard: How Small Experiments Led to a Big Theory. Book includes do-it-yourself experiments!

 Autumn workshops:
Memoir/personal essay : develop your narrative voice. Five sessions.
Individual editorial consultation available. Contact Maryann for details.
Looking forward to
MOBY-DICK MARATHON,  2019 & Melville’s 200th!

Bookshop hours: open daily, 10-6; Sun. and Wed. 11 to 5,

& more to come!

Read about May 2016’s Walt Whitman Marathon

Contact the shop for more information on photography and writing workshops: nature writing; memoir; spirituality; personal essay.We also offer editorial services and expert artwork framing.

nytlogo314x53March 26, 2009

MAC sweeping outside shop

In Spring, a Small-Town South Fork

excerpts from an article by  SUZANNE MCNEILL

In spring, you can explore East Hampton, Amagansett, and Sag Harbor while they are still their small-town selves. The sheer number of galleries — along with their impassioned owners and a steady stream of local visitors — suggests that art is still an integral part of life in the area where Jackson Pollock and Lee Krasner, among others, once lived and worked.

On Main Street, Canio’s Books is nearly as active in the off season as in summer. The store, with its creaky wooden floors (the building dates to the late 18th century), is a magnet for Sag Harbor’s literary and artistic community; besides the used and new books crammed onto the shelves, the store regularly displays paintings and photographs by local artists.

MAC inside shopphotos by Gordon M. Grant for NY Times

Welcome to Canio’s!
A Literary Harbor for the Arts, since 1980

290 Main Street, Sag Harbor, NY 11963.  (631) 725-4926.  info@caniosbooks.com

Co-owners Kathryn Szoka, photographer, and Maryann Calendrille, writer and editor welcome you to Canio´s Books where specially selected literary fiction and non-fiction, art, and photography entice the curious reader.

Shelves are bursting with a fine selection of literary children´s books, nature titles, food books, spirituality, literary biography and memoir, and environmental interest. An entire wall is devoted to poetry.

Enjoy meeting a wide range of authors, and local artists at weekend readings and exhibitions. Kathryn and Maryann also run community workshops on photography and writing.

Established in 1980 by Canio Pavone, the bookshop features new, used and collectible books and is well known as a literary gathering place.   Since October 1999, Maryann Calendrille and Kathryn Szoka have continued Canio´s tradition of hosting a wide range of authors, and featuring exceptional local artwork.

Visit the shop to discover why customers call Canio´s “a real bookshop.” Shelves are crammed with books worth reading; our knowledgeable staff is eager to make recommendations. Events on Saturdays at 5 p.m. The art gallery features changing exhibits and receptions in summer. Writing workshops in fiction, essay, memoir, poetry and photography are offered. Expert picture framing services and editorial consultation also available.

***Celebrate Sag Harbor!   “Sag Harbor Is…a Literary Celebration” edited by Maryann Calendrille with Kathryn Szoka´s photographs. Makes a great gift.***

8 Responses to “CALENDAR of EVENTS”


  1. 1 Steven August 1, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    I haven’t had the chance to visit your great bookstore in years–I haven’t been out to Sag harbor in years–but I’m so glad to see that you’re still going strong. You guys are super and I look forward to seeing Canio’s in person again soon (now that I’m back in NYC).

    It’s a heroic feat to keep an indie bookstore going these days and I hope to support you in that soon.

    Best,

    Steven

  2. 3 bijou le tord September 17, 2011 at 8:07 am

    the best little bookshop on the East side of the planet : run by two lovely ladies with exquisite taste in books . . . a magnificent eye on the world. . . great friends to the community of Sag Harbor. . . we love you. . . thanks for being you . . . keep Canio’s Bookstore open for ever & ever. . .
    🙂

    • 4 canios September 17, 2011 at 3:27 pm

      Merci beaucoup, Bijou. We’re doing our best, and tonight will be celebrating 30+ years of Canio’s Community at the home of two wonderful Sag Harbor artists. Wish you could join us! It’s a fundraiser for our new venture, Canio’s Culture Cafe`. Best wishes with your own wonderful artwork!
      a bientot!
      M&K

  3. 5 maidstonejewelry June 4, 2012 at 2:20 am

    I love your store! From a fellow East Ender and blogger with a special interest in our beaches! and other things beautiful.

  4. 6 Roland Frindik June 24, 2014 at 7:17 am

    Today an article about Canio’s books written by Louis Begley is being published in Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, a German newspaper. Now as you become famous all over Germany you may expect German visitors who want to make a break from running around Manhattan. Just to let you know that we do make the same effort to support our local bookshop in our town in Germany as well. There is a world beyond the smartphone.

  5. 7 Jenese Bennett November 10, 2015 at 3:14 pm

    I’m looking forward to coming by and seeing your location and even hearing some poetry. I love to write and more so love to listen. A friend told me about your establishment, it looks interesting.


  1. 1 News and Events: Week of June 23rd | Trackback on June 23, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s




Canio's Books is located at 290 Main Street, Sag Harbor, NY 11963. You can drop an email to info@caniosbooks.com, or even check out some of our stock online. Thanks for visiting our blog!

Vanishing Landscapes


%d bloggers like this: